In Borderlands 3, your save files are stored locally on your computer. Meaning that eventually, we’ll be able to use save editors to modify our characters remotely. It also means we can backup, import, delete and trade saves with other players.
Below, we’ve put together a quick guide for finding your Borderlands 3 Save Files on PC. For more Borderlands 3 Guides & Best-of content for PS4, PC and Xbox One, make sure to check out our dedicated area here!
Borderlands 3 Saves
The default save location for Borderlands 3 is in your Documents folder. Specifically at \Documents\My Games\Borderlands 3\Saved\SaveGames.
Inside, you will find folders which are your characters. You can make a backup of these saves by copying them somewhere, for example, your desktop. Later on, you can import saves again by simply pasting them into the SaveGames folder.
If you have downloaded a save file online, such as a 100% complete save, then place it into your SavedGames folder and boot up Borderlands 3. Head to the character selection screen, and the character should be available to play.
Whilst it’s recommended to delete any characters from inside Borderlands 3, you can also delete them from this folder. However it’s currently unknown if this will have any negative effects.