Managing your League of Legends account
It’s possible to deactivate or delete your League of Legends account. However, it’s not an automatic process and must be done manually by contacting Riot Support.
I don’t work for Riot Games, and information in this post was gathered from the Official Riot FAQ Page.
Required information for account deletion or deactivation
Riot Games will require some information before making changes to your account, to verify that it is in fact yours and it hasn’t been hacked. Some information that they require includes Username, Summoner Name, ISP, Creation date of the account and city where the account was created. If you can’t provide this information, they may ask you for alternative information.
How to Delete a League of Legends Account
When you choose to delete your League of Legends account, it becomes unrecoverable. This means once it’s gone, it’s literally gone. You will never have access to the account or it’s items again. Therefor you need to make sure that you’re making the right decision when deleting your account. The process is completely irreversible too.
Once you’ve submitted for your League of Legends account to be deleted, the process supposedly takes 15 days. Within these 15 days, you can still save your account by contacting Riot, as long as you give them at least 5 days before deletion.
One thing to note is that once your account has in fact been deleted, all of your information becomes usable on a new account. This includes your email address & username.
If you do feel ready to delete your League of Legends account, you can submit a request here over at the Riot site.
How to Deactivate a League of Legends Account
Deactivating a League of Legends account is much different to deleting it. When you choose to deactivate an account, it becomes inaccessible. However, it still exists and sits in Riots system.
To regain access to the account, you simply have to contact Riot. It’s made very clear on the Riot FAQ that when you choose to deactivate an account, the rank will still decay.
When you deactivate account, no data such as skins, username or match history is lost. It’s simply the same as taking a break.