If you don’t want friends to be able to join your game, or anyone for that matter, you have that choice. And the best option for doing so is to enable Invite Only mode.
As you’d expect, ‘Invite Only’ means friends or other random people online can’t join your game. The only people who will be able to join are people you actually invite, and they have to accept.
Below, you can find out how to enable Invite Only in Borderlands, as well as how to invite someone. For more Borderlands 3 Guides & Best-of content for PS4, PC and Xbox One, make sure to check out our dedicated area here!
Enabling Invite Only
You can enable ‘Invite Only’ mode from either the main menu or in-game. If in-game, open up an interface such as your inventory or the map. In the top right corner, you will see your profile.
Press the Cg icon, then choose a ‘Group Privacy’ option. For the sake of this tutorial, we want to choose ‘Invite Only’. You can also do this at any point from the main menu. Now with Invite Only, friends won’t be able to join so you’ll need to invite them.
To invite someone, from the menu, choose ‘Social’. The first window that pops up will be the Roster. In here, you can see a list of your friends, where you can invite them to your game. You can also manage other players which includes kicking them.